The bell tower above the entrance gate of the nunnery was built at the end of the last century and was destroyed in the early 1920s. The nunnery was liquidated after September 1939. Today the Dubno Oncology Dispensary functions in the building. However, the nunnery is in its infancy, and for a year and a half worship services have been held here constantly. Nevertheless, the major secret is that there is a great shrine of the Orthodox Church here - a capsule with fragments of the relics of infants killed innocently in Bethlehem, who suffered martyrdom for Christ.
The modern Orthodox St. Barbara (Varvara) Nunnery in Dubno has been operating since the fall of 2004, but has an interesting centuries-old background. The nunnery is being revived in the historic premises of the Carmelite monastery on the northern edge of the city.
The Carmelite monastery in Dubno was founded by Anastasia Chernetska (also can be spelled as Anastasia Czarnecka) in 1660. According to other sources, it was founded in 1702 by Princess Teofila-Ludwika Lubomirska. But the buildings of the nunnery did not appear at the same time: the church dates back to 1630, and the nunnery building - in 1686. It is now difficult to determine whether the cell building was built for an existing nunnery or whether the nunnery was founded when buildings already existed for it.
The nunnery owned the village of Znesnenia (later it became a suburb of Dubno).
The church was built in the early Baroque style. Its southern facade was completed by a triangular pediment, which has been recently destroyed.
The cells are housed in a case in the shape of the letter L. The building has two floors, along the front facade is an open arch-gallery. The main entrance is decorated with a Baroque portal with three stucco vases at the top. The whole complex has a prominent place among the architectural ensembles of Ukraine of the early Baroque period.
The nunnery had a garden, vegetable garden and pasture; there were about 18 nuns in it at the end of its more than 200-year existence. They were involved, among other things, in raising girls. The nuns were called pannochky (young ladies). This gave the name of the street that led to the monastery - Panieńska (now vulytsia Shevchenka or Shevchenko Street).
After September 1939, the nunnery was liquidated and the premises were adapted for other purposes. Now there is an oncology dispensary. In 2004, with the consent of the head of the Dubno inter-district oncology dispensary, Mr. Petro Komisaruk, rooms for a house church and cells for the nunnery's residents were allocated here. The organisation of the nunnery in honour of St. Barbara (Varvara, known in the Eastern Orthodox Church as the Great Martyr Barbara) with the blessing of His Eminence Metropolitan Daniel blessed Abbess Anna (Kulinets), who since 2001 had been acting abbess of St. Nicholas Convent in Dubno, and later in 2002-2004 was abbot of Christ Nativity Nunnery in Volodymyr-Volynskyi, Volhyn.
Through the efforts of the abbot's mother and her assistants, regular services were organised in the nunnery, and the clergy and sisters took care of the patients of the oncology dispensary. There are many shrines of the Orthodox Church in the nunnery, including the relics of the saints: the great martyr Barbara (Varvara) and the great martyr and healer Panteleimon; healer of Kyiv-Pechersk and St. Job of Pochayiv; one of the babies killed in Bethlehem."
Rivne Region, vul. Tarasa Shevchenka, 54, Dubno
50.426651558278955 | 25.741224314680494